POLITICAL SCIENCE AND PHILOSOPHY

Website (http://shss.umkc.edu/political-science-and-philosophy/) Contact Information

5030 Cherry Street, 434 Cherry Hall Kansas City, MO 64110

Phone: (816) 235-1326

Email: polisciandphil@umkc.edu (https://catalog.umkc.eduMailto:polisciandphil@umkc.edu)

Department Chair

Rebecca Best

Department Description

Our department is home to nationally and internationally recognized faculty who engage in a variety of fields of inquiry within Political Science and Philosophy. Our faculty publishes in leading academic outlets, frequently conducts externally funded research, and has received numerous teaching awards. We are committed to the growth and success of our undergraduate students in their academic careers and professional objectives, including law school, graduate school, and employment in the public, private, and non-profit sectors.

Our programs provide students with opportunities to complete advanced coursework, engage in undergraduate research, and gain field experience through internships.

Faculty

Department Faculty

Rebecca Best^{1,2}; associate professor of political science; B.A. (East Carolina University); M.A., Ph.D. (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill).

Bruce Bubacz; curators' professor of philosophy and professor of law; B.A. (Ripon College); M.S., Ph.D. (University of Washington-Seattle).

Debra Leiter 1.2; associate professor of political science; B.A. (University of California - San Diego); M.A., Ph.D. (University of California - Davis).

Mona Lyne; associate professor of political science; B.S. (University of California - Berkeley); M.A. (Monterey Institute of International Studies); Ph.D. (University of California - San Diego).

Clancy W. Martin; professor of philosophy; B.A. (Baylor University); Ph.D. (University of Texas at Austin).

J. Antonio Molinar; assistant teaching professor of political science; A.A. (Southwest Texas Junior College); B.A. (Brigham Young University-Hawaii); M.A. (St. John's University); Ph.D. (University of North Texas)

E. Gwendolyn Nally; associate professor of philosophy; B.A. (James Madison University); M.A., Ph.D. (University of Virginia).

Elizabeth Vonnahme^{1,2}; professor of political science; B.A. (Angelo State University); M.A., Ph.D. (Rice University).

Greg Vonnahme^{1,2}; associate professor of political science; B.S. (University of Iowa); M.A., Ph.D. (Rice University).

Jennifer Wargin; assistant teaching professor; Ph.D. (Texas A&M University).

Benjamin Woodson^{1,2}; associate professor of political science; B.S. (Indiana University); M.A., Ph.D. (Stony Brook University).

- Member of UMKC Graduate Faculty
- Member of UMKC Doctoral Faculty

Emeriti Faculty

Robert K. Evanson; associate professor emeritus of political science; B.A. (University of Illinois-Urbana); M.A., Ph.D. (University of Wisconsin-Madison).

Robert E. Gamer; professor emeritus of political science; B.A. (Monmouth College); Ph.D. (Brown University).

Dale Allen Neuman; professor emeritus of political science; A.B. (Kenyon College); Ph.D. (Northwestern University).

Max J. Skidmore; curators' professor emeritus of political science; B.S., B.S. Ed. (Southwest Missouri State); M.Ed. (University of Missouri-Columbia); Ph.D. (University of Minnesota).

Undergraduate Programs:

Bachelor of Arts: Political ScienceBachelor of Arts: Philosophy

Minors:

- · Minor in Political Science
- · Minor in Philosophy
- Minor in International Studies (https://catalog.umkc.edu/colleges-schools/humanities-social-sciences/academic-departments-programs/political-science-philosophy/minor-international-studies/)
- · Minor in Bioethics and Medical Humanities