Quality control of the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. program rests with those faculty members certified by the University of Missouri to chair and serve on doctoral supervisory committees. These doctoral faculty members are responsible for the design and implementation of a student's doctoral plan of study and for the assessment of the qualifications of a student they recommend to the Curators for the Ph.D. degree. To help students formulate an appropriate plan of study, the doctoral faculty are divided into five broad groups corresponding to research interests and expertise. The groupings do not preclude an interdisciplinary plan of study and research involving more than one of these five groups, but are intended only to provide a structure that will assist students and doctoral faculty in developing a plan of study for each Interdisciplinary Ph.D. student. A 15-member executive committee of the doctoral faculty, chaired by the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, formulates the policies that govern Interdisciplinary Ph.D. studies. Ten members of the committee are elected by the doctoral faculty. The Chancellor, in view of the election results and in consultation with the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, appoints five members. There are three members from each of the five broad research areas. This process ensures representation from across the primary areas of responsibility assigned to the campus by the Curators. The Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Executive Committee is also charged with formulating, monitoring and reviewing goals of the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. program and recommending changes in goals, procedures and policies to the faculty. Any proposed major change must be ratified by the doctoral faculty of the campus.