University of Missouri - Kansas City (UMKC)

General undergraduate academic rules and regulations and graduate academic regulations and information apply to all undergraduate and graduate programs, respectively.

Prospective students should be aware that the University reserves the right to make changes in admission requirements, fees and other specifications in the catalog.

The web site address for the UMKC catalog is

The UMKC catalog is the official record of degree program requirements. Students are expected to become thoroughly familiar with all academic regulations and requirements of this catalog pertaining to their program of study and to comply with its provisions.

The University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC) is one of four campuses that constitute the University of Missouri. Established in Columbia in 1839 on the ideals of Thomas Jefferson, the University of Missouri became a land-grant institution upon passage of the Morrill Act by Congress in 1862.

The University is governed by the Board of Curators, whose members are appointed by the governor of Missouri and confirmed by the Missouri Senate. The University president directs and coordinates the programs of the four campuses, with staff assistance in finance, business management, research, extension, development, public information and other UM system services.

The activities of each campus are supervised by a chancellor, who directs campus affairs within policies established by the Board of Curators and the president.